Overview top

The National Examination Board in Occupational Safety and Health Certificate is approximately a 25 week programme. This is accredited by SQA at Level 6, nominally equivalent to level 3 qualification and gives an excellent foundation in health and safety for managers, supervisors and staff with health and safety among their day to day responsibilities.

These qualifications are also widely taken as a first step towards a career in health and safety and are accepted by IOSH the Institution of Occupational Safety and Health in meeting the academic requirements for Technician Membership of IOSH (Tech IOSH). It provides a valuable overview, and is a sound basis for further professional study.


The National General Certificate (NGC) comprises three parts:

  • NGC1: Management of Health and Safety which comprises:- Foundations in Health & Safety, Health and Safety Managament Systems - Plan: Health and Safety Management Systems. Do: Health and Safety Management Systems. Check: Health and Safety Management Systems - Act
  • GC2: Controlling Workplace Hazards which includes:-  Movement of people and vehicles; hazards and control; Manual and mechanical handling hazards and control; Working equipment hazards and control; Electrical hazards and control; Fire hazards and control; Chemical and biological health  hazards and control; Physical and psychological health  hazards and control; Construction activities  hazards and control
  • GC3:  The Practical Assessment which comprises Inspections of Workplaces. It is possible to combine this course with a management development programme.

If you are considering entering employment where there is a responsibility for health and safety it may be advisable to acquire knowledge of management principles and practices and to develop essential communication and problem solving skills. Please ask for details of our management development programme

Entry Requirements top

A minimum of IOSH Managing Safely Certificate (or equivalent) with a good score result in the written assessment is required for automatic entry. However other level 3 qualifications or above (in any subject) will also be considered for entry. Candidates will be required to complete a pre-entry questionnaire and have an interview with a course tutor. assessment will have provided sufficient qualification for entry.

Assessment top

Assessment for this formal qualification is by 2 x 2 hour formal written examination and a practical workplace inspection assessment and report.

Professional Opportunities top

The NEBOSH National General Certificate is the standard requirement for entry to the NEBOSH National Diploma in Occupational Health & Safety.

Dates & Fees

Contact us for current course dates and fees.