Overview top

The BTEC level 3 in computing runs over the course of two years. In your first year you will complete the foundation diploma, before topping up to the extended diploma in your second year of study.

The BTEC level 3 National Foundation Diploma in computing will comprise of six units studied over the year long programme. These units will be assessed through practical and written work, as well as exams.

The Level 3 course is designed to cover the fastest growing areas in computing today, as well as teaching you a skill set that has been requested by employers around the North East.

Within the first year of study the following units will be studied:

Year 1 (Foundation Diploma)

  • Unit 1: Principles of computer science (External Exam)
  • Unit 2: Fundamentals of computer systems (External Exam)
  • Unit 7: IT systems security and encryption
  • Unit 8: Business applications of social media
  • Unit 10: Human-computer Interaction
  • Unit 15: Website development

Entry Requirements top

Entry requirements to this course are 5 GCSEs grade C (4) or above, including maths and English.

Alternatively, a level 2 computing course at Merit level achievement may be used to gain entry.

Assessment top

This course is assessed over 6 units. The units are a mixture of portfolio work and examinations.

Professional Opportunities top

Upon successful completion of the National Foundation Diploma at level 3, the majority of learners progress onto the Extended Diploma.  Following successful completion of the two year course, progression opportunities include Foundation Degree computing at STC as well as countrywide undergraduate degrees within computing.